The Council

The City Council consists of seven elected officials, the Mayor and six Councilpersons.  Meetings are held the first and third Tuesday of each month at City Hall in the Council Chambers at 7:00 p.m.

The public is welcome to attend and may address the City Council during two public comment periods.  Public comment is also accepted in written form if you are unable to attend a meeting.  Comments and concerns for the City Council may be mailed to the City Clerk at:

City of Ithaca MI
129 W. Emerson
Ithaca, MI 48847

To correspond by email, please send to:

City Manager Jamey Conn:  City Manager
City Clerk Barbara Fandell: Clerk/Treasurer

Elected Officials

• Mayor Alice Schafer
• Mayor ProTem Rick Koppleberger
• Councilperson Brett Baublitz
• Councilperson James Gruesbeck
• Councilperson Clark Hubbard
• Councilperson Scott Gray
• Councilperson  James Andrew

• City Manager Jamey Conn
• Clerk-Treasurer Barbara Fandell
• Attorney Jefferson Arnold

Term Expiration 11/2021:  Schafer, Koppleberger, Hubbard, Gray
Term Expiration 11/2023:  Gruesbeck, Baublitz, Andrew

  • The City Council positions are elected city at-large positions. The Mayor serves a 2-year term and Councilpersons serve 4-year terms.  All positions are non-partisan.
  • The Mayor is a member of the Council having equal standing as other Councilpersons and also has the additional powers and duties as provided by law. The Council exercises all of the legislative and policymaking powers of the City and provides for the performance of all duties and obligations imposed upon the City by law.
  • City Council positions are elected with each odd-year election cycle. Petitions for running are due in April. Questions on running for these positions may be directed to the City Clerk at .

2020 Meeting Dates


Current Meeting Information


City Council Meeting information is available the Monday prior to
the City Council meeting.

Meeting Packets

The meeting packet is available on the business day prior to the meeting date.

*The meeting packet will be available Monday, December 1, 2020


Prior Year Minutes

Additional City Council Information

The meeting packet is available on the business day prior to the meeting date.

Any person who wishes to contact the City to provide input or ask questions on any business coming before the City Council may do so by calling or e-mailing the City Clerk’s Office prior to the meeting at (989)875-3200 x 305 or .


The City of Ithaca will provide necessary reasonable auxiliary aids and services, such as signers for the hearing impaired and audio recordings of printed materials being considered at the meeting, to individuals with disabilities at the meeting/hearing upon seventy-two  (72) hours’ notice to  the  City  of Ithaca.  Individuals with disabilities requiring auxiliary aids or services should contact the City of Ithaca by writing, calling, or emailing the following:  Ithaca City Clerk’s Office, 129 W. Emerson St, Ithaca, MI 48847; Phone: (989) 875-3200; Email:

City Council Meeting Attendance Information

Any person who wishes to contact the City to provide input or ask questions on any business coming before the Council may do so by calling the City Clerk's office at 989-875-3200 or e-mailing  by 12:00 noon prior  to  the meeting.

The City of Ithaca will provide necessary reasonable auxiliary aids and services, such as signers for the hearing impaired and audio recordings of printed materials being considered at the meeting, to individuals with  disabilities  at  the  meeting/hearing  upon  seventy-two  (72) hours’ notice to  the  City  of Ithaca. Individuals with disabilities requiring auxiliary aids or services should contact the City of Ithaca by writing, calling, or emailing the following:  Ithaca City Clerk’s Office, 129 W. Emerson St, Ithaca, MI 48847; Phone: (989) 875-3200; or email clerk